909-547-4651

March 28, 2024, 01:39:18 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: To Subscribe to the Rugged Rocks Forum RSS Feed

Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: so I broke my frame.... lets go 3 link?  (Read 14792 times)
ehtrain

« on: May 17, 2015, 02:28:16 PM »

heres a video of me doing a river crossing. that cursed rear bumper.  1min 25 sec you hear the BANG of the leaf spring sucking the frame inward hahaha. I knew it was abit rusty back there. but... damn! wasn't that bad 2 yrs ago and pre many many bumper smashes.... haha

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZAYyubiBNk

SO I sorta devised a way to fix it. Not the greatest but not the worst. I can see no real way to restore it back to proper strength with any repair method to equal stock level. laying frame length plates on all 4 sides is just bad. I'm no pro pressure/structure welder guy but I know its hard to get 6-7ft worth of weld on all 4 corners and get no porosity from the rusty stuff below no matter how clean you get it. so To me having 4 sides of a welded box is just stupid and improper. unless you want to get all your welds x-ray'd the structure shouldnt be relying only its welds to resist twist and vibration like a 4x4 can see.